CLOUD PAAS / ENVIRONMENT MANAGEMENT

Environment Transferring

This guide has been reviewed and reformatted for Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS. Screens may vary slightly by platform version.

Click or tap a screenshot to view it at its original size.

Objective

This guide explains how to use Environment Transferring on Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS, with ordered procedures and practical verification points.

Before you begin

  • Sign in with an account permitted to manage the relevant environment.
  • Confirm the target environment, region and resources before saving changes.
  • Create a backup or rollback plan before changing a production system.

Environment relocation allows you to move an environment to another Ruk-Com Cloud account within the same platform. (This requires confirmation from both accounts)

Reason

This feature is useful in many cases. For example, if you want:

  • Move all your projects to a new account, an account registered with a different email address.
  • Move your project to another developer's account in case the employee leaves the company.
  • Move the available production environment to the company main account from the personal test account.
  • Restore the environment in the old disabled account without re-enabling the account.

Tips:Additionally, hosting providers can offer services to create the necessary applications, after which they are configured and tested. A ready-to-use production environment will be transferred to your account.

Conditions

Any (stopped/running) environment can be transferred from any account. (This includes deactivated accounts.) However, the account type should meet the following requirements:

  • type- can beCategoryAny (beta, billing) except trial accounts
  • status- shouldActivate(i.e. not suspended or disabled)
  • quotas- Should haveQuotathat is sufficient (limitation) to increase the environment

Note:Platforms with versions lower than 5.9.3 can only migrate environments to billing accounts.

For example, Some quotas are checked during migration: cloudlets per container, node per environment, accounts on environment public IP / VPS / high-availability features (if enabled during environment transfer), etc.

In addition, if an error occurs You will see notifications directly on your dashboard.

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot

Results

Environment will not change after migration. The new owner will receive the same status, deploy the application in the same way and have the same customizations. Plus all subsequent costs will be applied to the new owner as well.

Moreover, moving environments will not be shared among all users who have access to them.

Environment migration steps

Let's look at the environment migration process.

1. Click the buttonSettingsnext to the environment you want to move.

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot

2. Once the tab is open, go to the Change Owner section and enter the email address of the user you want to move the environment to (the new owner).

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot
Click the Send Request button to proceed.

3. If the account you entered is found and meets the requirements. You will see a notification that the request has been successfully sent.

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot

Tips:You can cancel your request by clicking the button.Cancel Request(Until confirmation from the new owner)

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot

4. The new environment owner will receive an environment transfer request along with an email confirmation URL.

Note:While waiting for confirmation, the environment will be marked.For pending transfers on the dashboard

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot

5. Once the new owner confirms the environment transfer request (clicks the link from the email), the environment will be removed from the first user's dashboard and will appear in the new owner's dashboard. The first user will receive an email about the successful environment transfer.

Ruk-Com Cloud PaaS procedure screenshot

More:During this process, the new owner's account will be verified. If an account is found to be non-compliant, the transfer process will be stopped and the account owner will receive an error message on the dashboard and an email will be sent to the first environment owner.

With this feature You can easily move environments from one account to another.